Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm still new to EQ calibration and I hail from Singapore. I did a lot of groundwork trying to find solid, capable equipments that can assist me in calibrating my HT.

My initial plan is to first get a couple of equipment plus REW to get myself started on EQ cali.

Mic - Earthworks M30 Measurement Microphone (freq resp - 5Hz - 30kHz)
AI - TASCAM US-322 2-In/2-Out USB Audio Interface (freq resp - 10 - 68kHz)
the standard XLR cables and connectors
Software - REW

extras:
Phonic PAA6 Dual Channel Digital Audio Analyzer (Undecided if I want to get this ATM)

Probably I will do more reading up in REW forums and research before going down this road... as I've heard EQ calibration ain't gonna be easy.. but the rewards are worth it. :sn:

·
Super Moderator
5,869 Posts
Wow, you dont NEED the EW M30 but if you want to spend that kind of money you can. You could always just buy a MiniDSP Umik mic for under $100. But the EW M30 is an awesome mic also.

·
Premium Member
2,620 Posts
Welcome to Home Theater Shack! Please visit us often.

I had the pleasure of visiting Singapore on a business trip in January of 2000 and really enjoyed my stay.

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
Welcome to HTS....:wave:

·
Registered
1,752 Posts
Welcome to the Home Theater Shack. You are on the right path. The REW forums are the place to read up on REW and ask your questions.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Wow, you dont NEED the EW M30 but if you want to spend that kind of money you can. You could always just buy a MiniDSP Umik mic for under $100. But the EW M30 is an awesome mic also.
I heard there might be some issue with noisy capture using the Umik... so I went into full paranoid mode and hunted for the best microphone there is, although i must admit myself its way overkill... :hsd: