Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I'm Eric and new to this forum but I've been a member of the Polk forum and the Carver Audio forum for sometime now. I was surfing the web when I came across this forum...looks like a bunch of great people, willing to share their knowledge.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Hi Eric, Welcome aboard.

Enjoy your stay

·
Premium Member
3,777 Posts
Welcome, Eric. Old story: in the late 70's or early 80's I was a bench tech at a electronics repair shop. We always measured total output, distortion, etc on every amp we fixed. I only got to work on one Carver, it had a bad Dolby chip. It turned out to have the best amp I tested there. It had far more power than advertised, plus, the distortion level was almost non-existent! Dennis

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
Hey, I live in South Carolina too, I have looked around on the Polk forums but I am not a member.
Hi Mike,
I live in Gaffney, right off I85 and just a few miles south of the North Carolina border. I'm about 2 hours from you. About 8 months ago I drove to Columbia to pick up a trashed pair of Carver Amazings which I'm in the process of rebuilding now. All 8 woofers were blown, the crossovers were shot, and the ribbons were missing. But, I only paid $25 for the pair.:bigsmile:

Oh yea! Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Welcome, Eric. Old story: in the late 70's or early 80's I was a bench tech at a electronics repair shop. We always measured total output, distortion, etc on every amp we fixed. I only got to work on one Carver, it had a bad Dolby chip. It turned out to have the best amp I tested there. It had far more power than advertised, plus, the distortion level was almost non-existent! Dennis