Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello. I am Mike R from SE Michigan.
Here I am 1 year ago at 2007 CES with a few friends:

I built our loghome in 2002, with future plans to finish the walkout basement, including a Home Theatre.
http://mmrosinski.tripod.com/loghome/

I've been working on that (part time) for the past 3 years, and just now the drywall is finally going up.
I'm a DIY'er, did myself:
-framing (gotta love a Paslode, I drove over 5,000 nails with it)
-HVAC (real hot and cold air returns each room for good re-circ, pre-planned when we built the house with the HVAC installer - our system is a closed loop geothermal system by the way)
-Plumbing
-All electrical wiring, over 1,700 feet of 14/2, 14/3, and 12/3 wiring for 11 new circuits and utilizing 3 existing circuits for 87 new boxex/receptables/light sw. I used the 12/3 for a dedicated 20 amp ground isolated HT circuit.
-Full wiring for the HT, 500 feet of 14/4 speaker wire, 250 feet of RG6, etc
(can I tell you how sore my hands were after pulling all that wire)
Here is link to the whole basement project in process over 3 years.
http://picasaweb.google.com/mtbdudex/BasementProject

Doing that myself earned the sweat equity to have a pro do the drywall and also helped my "budget" for the HT equipment.

Below I'll show status of my basement HT, I'll be coming to this forum for advice as I actually install/set-up stuff.

Here is link to HT project in process (more will be added as stuff actually gets installed)
http://picasaweb.google.com/mtbdudex/HomeTheatreProject
Here is basement plan:

I've studied and after much review have bought the following equipment for the Basement HT:
(went thru local dealer who gave me very competitive price instead of internet shopping, I support the local high end shops)
This stuff was ordered 12/26/07, I have everything at home except the Sony VW60, which is due Sat 1/12.
Frt Proj: Sony VPL-VW60