Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I had this buried in an oh so familiar "My DNIe chip went bad" post, but I thought I'd pull it out to it's own thread.

I was going to pull the digital board and have JD reflow the chip. So I was in a hurry, and I had read on here that each cable is unique and only fits in one spot, so I just took a quick picture of the board with the cables plugged in, and then ripped it all out. I got the board back, and at that time I noticed that there were actually multiple places to plug in a few of the cables. So... I plugged it all in based on my horrible picture. I powered it up, nothing. So then I studied the picture again and saw just the edge of a connector that I had in the wrong spot. So I swapped that connector to the other one that it fit in, powered it up, and it worked.... except... I had no remote control sensor. The sensor area powers and I have indicator LEDs (temp, standby, etc...). Remote controls, however, do not work. So my assumption is I have the remote control sensor cable plugged into the wrong spot. I assume it's one of the smaller connectors, and there are 2 or 3 different spots along the back-left corner of the board that it could plug into.

So now 4 months later, JD's reflow gave out as expected. The symptoms are the exact same as before, and the VGA port still works fine. So I'm sure it's still the digital board. I have a pretty common set, chassis, etc... In fact, I think I have the exact same set that Leonard did the huge write-up on. I'm good with replacing the board, but I've seen you guys warn that you should record your service menu settings before you do. Well... I can't get to the service menu without a remote control!

So at this point you guys probably think I'm a moron, but hopefully someone will take pity on me. Hopefully I haven't shorted it out, and it's just a matter of getting the cable in the right spot.