Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi All,
I am new to Shack.

I have bought a new property and i need to convert one of the rooms as a HT. This room should serve partly as a living room and partly as a HT so i cannot have a typical HT seating arrangement. I have attached a picture of the room. Dimensions are 21'11x12'10 I intend to use my HTPC to play the media and use my ONKYO 607 as receiver.

Any assistance you can provide me on the below would be of great help. Thanks

1. I am planning to remove the fire place. What other changes would you recommend in the room?
  2. I am planning to project on the wall along the width of the room. Whats the picture size i can achieve
  3. How far back do i need to mount the projector?
  4. Please recommend me a screen, projector that would be good. Can i get a 4k projector at decent price?
  5. What speakers would i need for a room of this size? I need 7.1 setup

·
Registered
512 Posts
Hi All,

Any assistance you can provide me on the below would be of great help. Thanks

1. I am planning to remove the fire place. What other changes would you recommend in the room?
  1. Control light coming in from outside. Projection requires a dark room. The black level you get is limited by whatever ambient light is hitting the screen. For example, those contrast ratios we hear about, like 50,000:1...a guy in the front seat wearing a white shirt will reflect enough light back to the screen to reduce that ratio to 2000:1 or less. You cannot ever achieve the specified contrast ratio in a practical home theater, but 2000:1 is usually good enough. Plan to black out the windows completely if you're going to use this in the daytime and want good contrast/black levels.
    [*]I am planning to project on the wall along the width of the room. Whats the picture size i can achieve
    [*]How far back do i need to mount the projector?