Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I feel I am a Home Theater Veteran. Since I was 9 I was fascinated by Home Theaters, mainly because of my father. And since than I have researched optimal layouts, sound wave physics, and so much more. I just moved out of my parents house, where I had a killer Home Theater layout. Where I sat had excellent bass response, and sound quality. But i'm surprised that it doesnt sound the same in my new room. The room dimensions are near the same, as well as the speaker placement, and seating placement. But I cannot hear the depth, clarity, and unlocalization as I did before. Before the bass came from the front and it sounded like it wasn't coming from the offset left side. Now it sounds its coming from the left side only.

I don't know how to fix this. I have tried moving the subwoofer to different locations of the room, and turning it around at the same location, to direct the vent in different directions to see if it helps or changes the attitude of the bass.

I guess the best way to describe the bass response now is it seems in my face in front of me, rather than embracing me all around.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Hi and welcome to the Shack!

It might help if we had a picture of your layout and a description of what equipment you are using particularly the sub?

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My Set-Up

Main Home Audio/Video System Equipment ListEdit Value
1x Yamaha Natural Sound Stereo Receiver RX-V480 (Receiver)
1x Mitsubishi VS-4551 (TV)
1x Polk Audio CSi25 (Center Speaker)
2x Polk Audio R50 (Tower Speakers)
2x Sony Bookshelf Speakers (Surround Speakers)
1x KLH E-12DBN (Subwoofer)
Acoustic Research 18 ga. Performance Series Speaker Wire

A crude, yet decent representation of my set-up

I drew it on paint in about 10 minutes, and last night, i measured my room to make sure all of this would fit. :p

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts