Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am building my 1st DIY sub, so I am new to winisd and everything else. I was wondering how to model the Oaudio 500w plate amp with the different subsonic filter settings and the eq. any help on this matter would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
Tricky question. O-Audio will not say what amounts of boost come with the 4 subsonic filter settings but their published graph tell a story.

If I'm reading the graph correctly, +55 is the base line according to the 12 hz setting which appears to have about 8 db of boost.

The 16 hz setting shows about 5 db of boost.

The 20 hz setting is about 3 db of boost.

The 25 hz setting is about 2 db of boost.

oaudio.JPG

Regarding the amps EQ, its effective range is 20 - 80 hz. You can cut the 20hz and 25 hz HPF boost.

The boost in the 12 and 16 hz subsonic filters is out side the range of the amps EQ (20 -80hz) you can't defeat it. Those filters are for sealed subs where they can benefit from the boost.

All the above is my understanding of the amp. Many an email to O-Audio resulted in no information when they were questioned about specifics. All I got out of them was " the amp works well for ported and sealed subs."

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I asked this same question on another forum and there I was told to use the peaking 2nd order highpass. I was wondering if anyone else knew which way was the correct way to do this? I know there are alot of Oaudio amp users out there.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thaks Mike, this is alot of info to take in for a newbee so the help is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
407 Posts