Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all

Im a newbie, and i wanted to seek the advice of some seasoned vets about the set up of a system with this type of room, ill do my best to describe it in great detail: This living room has a fire place which is the focal point of the room (just imagine a rectagular room with a fireplace that comes away from the wall about 2 1/2 ft in the center of the rectangle), above it is a deep, completly enclosed TV "cubby", luckily my 50'' samsung fits nicely between it's walls. I do plan to use a wall mount and mount it high so i can use the tilt feature to aim it better torwards the couch that sits about 9 feet from it. I also plan to build an av cabinet underneath, thus completly filling the cubby. Being that the "cubby" is fairly deep and my television is not ill have to mount the tv further away from the deep cubby back wall using some sort of 2x4 type frame. That im not worried about, the sound, however, i am. The house has 2 ceiling speakers built in above the couch (which id like to utilize) which is of course across from the tv. My question is.... What sort of speaker placement would you suggest (there is a room above the living room, so ceiling access is not possible) I do have speaker stands for the floors but getting the wires to them seems a bit challenging as id have come through the "cubby" walls on either side and come down to the floor, and im not a fan of those wire covering strips. I know i could mount directly to the outter cubby walls using some wall mounts, however the system im looking at is 5.1 and expandible to 7.1, also im wondering where is should put the sub considering the above circumstances ? ha ha now did any of that make sense ? suggestiuons ?

Ill try and add some pics...

Attachments

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3