Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got some questions for the pros here, since I'm new to all this Home Theater stuff. Hopefully one or more of you smart folks can chime in.

Here's the facts.
I've got a basement that is about 22'x12', so it's not too big. I've got a Vizio 47" TV (SV470XVT1A), which I was looking to hang on the wall. (Might upgrade to projector later, but seeing as I just picked this up, it might be a while).

So, here's my questions:

1. In general, how much should a starter HT system for a room that size cost? I just overpaid for my house about six months ago, so $$$ is at a serious premium. haha. I've read the sticky on HTIBs. I assume those are cheaper then buying components by themselves, right?

2. What are some other good resources to look at? Are there some basic guides / terms somewhere on this forum? I don't want to keep asking questions if they've been answered before (have read some of the sticky posts).

Thanks.

·
Registered
47 Posts
1. In general, how much should a starter HT system for a room that size cost?
No such animal! You're only limited by your imagination and financial resources.

That said, it's my opinion that the lion's share of your budget should be reserved for speakers and subwoofer(s). The next largest amount should be devoted to the room itself. Lastly, spend the least amount on electronics. And there's nothing wrong with going the used route for any of those items.

DON'T: Feel compelled to buy exotic, premium-priced speaker wire or interconnects. The only thing they'll increase is the commision of the person who sold it to you.

DO: Buy your receiver (if that's the way you're going to go) because of the features it has and not because of its power rating.

DON'T: Think that a more expensive CD or DVD player will sound better than a significantly less expensive model, especially if you're going to use a digital connection.