Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm a DIY speaker newbie and am looking at ideas for my first project. I have a young family so I don't want big floor-standing speakers that can get damaged, although I suspect that if my DIY efforts turn out well, a bigger system would be on the cards in a few years. I don't want to spend a fortune but I am also not looking for a budget system. I am OK with basic woodwork but nothing too fancy. I also enjoy electronics and am comfortable soldering and the like. I am drawn to the idea of active crossovers due to the upgradability and various other factors discussed in numerous long threads. I've also seen a number of small form-factor TPA3116 power amps that could be built into the speakers, however I haven't come across many projects doing that.
I am considering building an active crossover version of the Troels Gravesen Bookshelf-3WC speakers - identical drivers (they are in my pricerange), but fed from some kind of active crossover system (most likely miniDSP). The enclosure seems fairly simple to make. The passive crossover would be replaced by a 2x50W TPA3116 such as this for mid&tweeter and a 1x100W TPA3116 such as this for the woofer (power would be external).
Would I also need to include speaker protection circuit(s)?

I just thought I'd post my ideas here to get some feedback. Many thanks in advance!
Stephen

·
Registered
64 Posts