Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
With no limits on your design, what type of cabinet, crossover (or not), size, number and type of drivers and of course, the why of it. The goal is the most natural sound and clarity of voice, music and sound effects, based on your experience. This is not for arguments sake, just what you would enjoy.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Ideally the same speakers as you use in the front but I would be surprised if anyone could really tell if you used some good sized bookshelves like I do. The space your theater is in would be a challenge if you used full sized towers.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm not experienced, just going by what I've read, using different speakers would cause a change of voice as it moves between speakers. I thought that maybe you could use the same woofer/mid range for all and add a large woofer (not subwoofer) for each of the front. As I understand, a crossover changes phasing, so I wondered if that would work. I understand that some 9.1 systems can use two channels for bi-amplification. Maybe that would prevent the difference of phase shift in adding the larger woofers for the stereo pair. Again this is reading and thinking, not experience.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Let me seed this for discussion
• 6 ½” 2 way for the 80 Hz up on all and add a 12” to the fronts. (LFE would go to a sub).
• 8” 2 or 3 way all the way around with below 60 HZ to the sub with the LFE.
• Full range all the way around with 100 Hz and below going to the sub with the LFE.
• ???:huh:

·
Super Moderator
1,921 Posts