Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are cardboard sub enclosures any good for home theater? I'm new to DIY speakers but a cardboard enclosure seems so simple to build that I'm willing to do the job but I need some tips despite that. I need help to build an enclosure for the Dayton Audio RSS210HF-4. The specs suggest a 1.76 ft3 enclosure and I can get that volume from a 10 inch diameter, 48 inch long cardboard tube or close. I got that number from the volume calculator available in this website. I used a thickness of .25 inch because I don't know the real thickness of the tube but that number seems pretty close to me. I need help with that as well. Is there any member with experience in such project that can give me some tips?

·
Registered
334 Posts
When you say "cardboard" do you mean a "Sonotube" Otherwise I have this picture of a sub on the side of a cardboard fridge box that I dont think would work well lol...

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
When you say "cardboard" do you mean a "Sonotube" Otherwise I have this picture of a sub on the side of a cardboard fridge box that I dont think would work well lol...

I mean a Quikrete tube which are the ones that Lowe's carries. But those are very similar to Sonotube anyway. You don't think they'll sound good?

·
Registered
4,044 Posts
Maybe a couple fridge boxes together for an LLT/IB! Rofl! ...maybe my next DIY will sport Kenmore veneer!
Yes concrete tubes work great. I've used them as well as SVS, and many, many other DIY guys. Make sure you use fiberglass insulation for damping. I tried batting once and it didn't quite do the job, but still not bad. "Egg crate" foam is good too.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Maybe a couple fridge boxes together for an LLT/IB! Rofl! ...maybe my next DIY will sport Kenmore veneer!