Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to the DIY speaker building craze and am working on my first set of main speakers. I have selected Zaph Audio 5.5tt due to its smaller size and have been working on the list of items I will need for the crossover, which brings me to the questions I have.

The crossovers call for inductors having 1.8 mH with DCR of 0.2 Ohm and 4.0 mH with DCR of 0.3 Ohm. I checked the usual sites and do not see any meeting these specs.

For the first inductor above I find a foil type 12 awg with 0.091 Ohm, one p-core 15 awg (seems to be on a reel) with 0.17 Ohm, and an air coil 14 awg with 0.3 Ohm resistance (they are all 1.8 mH). The foil type is very expensive and I would like to stay away from that even though it appears to be the most suitable one. Considering the other two, what would be the pros and cons of using either of them?

For the second inductor I found a laminated core 18 awg with 0.39 Ohm, and an air coil 14 awg with 0.5 Ohm, which costs 4x more than the laminated core. Again, what would be the pros and cons of using either of these in the crossover?

I would really appreciate any feedback I can get, and depending on pros and cons of each I will make a decision on what to buy. I may still end up buying the expensive ones if they will what would seem to me to be an advantage over the others.

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Roryps

·
Super Moderator
1,921 Posts
Go with the p-core and laminated core, they are close enough in DCR. The DCR doesn't have to match exactly it just should be close. You can also wind your own air core inductors if you lookup online calculators.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
First of all, thanks for your response. I really appreciate it.

I made a slight error with parameters of my post.