Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an old Infinity 1220w subwoofer that I haven't used in a car for quite some time. Does it lend itself well to home theater use?

I don't know if i will go the DIY sub root, but doing it myself would have to be better than my old Yamaha powered sub (with like a 7" woofer or something).

i cannot post links yet to the manual, and cannot seem to copy the TS parameters either without being warned about posting links. The manual is available at the Harman site if someone can check them out to see how it models. i'm new to home theater.

got them to post:

THIELE-SMALL PARAMETERS
VOICE COIL DC RESISTANCE: REVC (OHMS) . . . . . . 3.43
VOICE COIL INDUCTANCE @ 1 KHZ: LEVC (MH) . . . . . . . 1.16
DRIVER RADIATING AREA: SD (IN2) . . . . . . . . 82.15
SD (M2) . . . . . . . 530.00
MOTOR FORCE FACTOR: BL (TM) . . . . . . . . 10.86
COMPLIANCE VOLUME: VAS (FT3) . . . . . . . . 4.55
VAS (LITERS) . . . . 128.80
SUSPENSION COMPLIANCE: CMS (μM/N) . . . . 320.47
MOVING MASS, AIR LOAD: MMS (GRAMS). . . . 137.20
MOVING MASS, DIAPHRAGM: MMD (GRAMS) . . . 130.14
FREE-AIR RESONANCE: FS (HZ) . . . . . . . . 24.00
MECHANICAL Q: QMS . . . . . . . . . . . 8.21
ELECTRICAL Q: QES . . . . . . . . . . . . 0.60
TOTAL Q: QTS . . . . . . . . . . . . 0.56
MAGNETIC-GAP HEIGHT: HAG (IN) . . . . . . . . . 0.31
HAG (MM) . . . . . . . . 7.92
VOICE-COIL HEIGHT: HVC (IN) . . . . . . . . . 1.25
HVC (MM) . . . . . . . 31.75
MAXIMUM EXCURSION: XMAX (IN) . . . . . . . . 0.47
XMAX (MM) . . . . . . 11.91

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
In a 7 cu.ft. box tuned to 20 hz this sub will handle 120 watts. A plate amp with a subsonic filter at 18 hz is a must or the sub will bottom out at the lower frequencies. Spl will be in the 109 db range down to 30 hz, and drops to 105 db at 20 hz, plus the effects of room gain. Will it be better then you Yamaha? Guaranteed!

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #3