Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have the Cables To Go 40430 system and am wanting to know if I can simply connect an emitter output directly to the 3.5mm IR Remote jack on the back of my receiver or is that connector only to be used with an IR target? If it can be connected directly, would it be a stereo or mono type cable (3-wire or 2-wire)?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes that is what I have. The receiver is a cheapo in my travel trailer, Concertone ZX600. I can't even figure who makes it, much less find any technical details on it. This is my first try with an IR repeater, but I do know electronics pretty well.

From what I have gathered the jack on the receiver is most likely wired for a target, which would be tip-5V, ring-SIG, and shield-GND. Does this sound right?

The emitter output on the repeater should be wired tip-SIG and shield-GND. Right?

So, in that case could I use a 2-wire cable connecting SIG to SIG and GND to GND?

What do you think?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks. I've never seen that website before. It has been awhile since I looked. It must be new. I'm awaiting their reply. If I do get any more info I will post it, but in the meantime anybody got anymore thoughts.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
This is the info I found I was referring to in an earlier post. This is a generic system you can build yourself.
http://diyirrepeater.blogspot.com/

Interfacing To Your A/V Components

IR eyeballs usually have a stereo 3.5mm plug with the tip being the +5V supply, the ring being the output signal, and the shield being ground. They are wired up to the circuit like this:

IR Eyeball Jack
EyeballInput.gif

IR blaster LEDs usually have a mono 3.5mm plug with the tip accepting a positive voltage and the shield being ground. They are wired up to the circuit like this:

IR Blaster Jack
IRBlaster.gif