Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I found one on Craigslist. It's an old sub, but people love the SVS brand, and I've never heard one. Is that too much?

EDIT: NSD version PB-10 NSD. Thanks.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Depends on what room you want to use this in. If very large it can get lost as its still only a 10 inch driver. I've been using one for last several years and they are great sub's though. Good output and great overall response. Goes surprisingly low in freq. It will most likely destroy anything else that could be had new for $250.

·
Super Moderator
9,186 Posts
I expect that the PB10 will blow away those other two subs. I doubt you’ll find another sub that will hit 20 Hz for a mere $250! Here are a couple of real-world, in-room measurements I generated when I reviewed the NSD’s predecessor a number of years ago.

Consider that the PB10 originally cost ~$450 (I think it was, it’s been a while) direct from the manufacturer. Those other two subs are $109 and $189 with a dealer (middleman) mark-up. Do the math! With a dealer mark-up the PB10 probably would have sold for over $600. I’m sure the Dayton is a great sub for the price, but I don’t see how it can compare to the SVS.

Regards,
Wayne

·
Registered
51 Posts
I would go with the older pb10. They retailed around 450 - 500 or so when they were new if memory serves. In general I think they are a step above those two. Those are great budget sub's but the pb10 starts beating on the door of a really serious ht sub. For $250 as long as functioning well, I don't think u can beat it.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
My friend who lives in Denver has one and the PB10 is a nice sub for the money. Try to get it down to $200 and your good.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #8