Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,

I have become facinated with room acoustics, but I must say I am a complete novice. I am sure I will be posting many, many more graphs to help me learn from all the experts here over the coming weeks / months.

If you are interested in giving me a hand, please take a look at the graphs below. I am trying to acoustically treat a listening / mixing room at home (it is a study converted inot a makeshift studio space I can muck around in).

I am using a Radio Shack SPL for the level metering and a ECM8000 for the actual measurements. All measurements taken at 75db. I have purchased 3 bags of Sonobatt Silencer + acoustic batts (21 batts in total). I am awaiting 8 Bass Trap Bags from Ready Acoustics (should be here in a week or so. Between now and then I thought I would try just sticking an entire bag full of eight bats in each rear corner, and put up some pillows at the first refelcetion points just to see if it made a difference.

The first graph is of the untreated room:

before.jpg

I don't know much, but that looks pretty bad to me.

So the next graph is with the batts and pillows placed as detailed above. I am sure this will improve once I have the batts made properly and placed them in all four corners e.t.c but just wanted to get an idea:

after.jpg

Well, I am not sure much has improved at all! The top end seemed to smooth out a bit, but has much else really happened?

Here is the before waterfall:

waterfall - before.jpg

And the after waterfall (something crazy happened with the attachments - see the green waterfall at the bottom for this one):

after.jpg

moo baby moo has happened here? Everything below 30hz has just disppeared and the ringing has not gotten any better across the frequencies, just shifted frequencies a bit as far as I can tell.

Here is a combined graph with the before and after:

before and after.jpg