Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I recently bought a Gizmo / WAF-1 package. I have the Gizmo hooked up to a few sources but I noticed a bit of muddy distortion when I play some CDs through a Pioneer DV-563A. I'm thinking perhaps the Pioneer's output is too hot for the Gizmo. I have the 563A connected to the Gizmo through standard RCA cables from the 2-channel output.

According to the user manual, the output from the 563A is 200 mVrms (1kHz, -20 dB). I'm not very technically oriented so I'm not sure what that all means exactly.

If the 563A is too hot, would adding attenuators to the RCA jacks be an okay solution? I have pairs of 6 dB and 12 dB attenuators that I can add, if that would help (and not hurt.)

Thanks,
Greg

·
Registered
100 Posts
Greg,
The spec you posted for the Pioneer is actually 2Vrms @ 1KHz at full output.

Your -6dB attenuator should drop the level, if the input impedance of the Gizmo matches the impedance spec for the attenuator. If this is not enough, then go to the -12dB attenuator.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Greg, to take HAL's comments a bit further, let me provide you with some input: