Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have some basic experience with sound (home, car, pro) but am a noobie to REW and BFD.
My listening room is 9' x 15' x 8'H. Carpeted floor, window with drapes on one side, and a couch so it's really a fairly "dead" room, although small. I have an L shaped computer desk in one corner of the room, facing one of the "long" walls. This puts my "mains" (Wharfedale 8.1s) in a nearfiled position, rear of them is about a foot in from the wall, spread 4 feet between them, three feet from my head. No need to discuss the sub yet (the plot is with the sub turned off). This computer desk is pretty big so the speaker closest to the corner is about four feet from the side wall. I set my rig up putting my analog RS meter on a mic boom stand, placed near the sweet spot where my head would be. RS cal file loaded, and sound card calibration file loaded.

Studying my graph, the bad peak at 134 Hz and the response at low frequencies is the nature of the speakers, but the null at 80 Hz and the very non linear response at higher frequencies appears to be interaction of the room? Is it normal to have 12db worth of difference just due to constructive and destructive interaction of sound waves? While playing a sine wave, I can move around the room and hear areas with high levels, and other areas of nearly complete cancellation. Some of these areas are towards the center of the room. I was aware this happened with low bass, but this seems to be going on at higher frequencies as well.

I'm inclined to fix the 134 Hz peak, boost up the response from say, 80 hz to 110, another filter to roll off below 80 Hz, then work on integrating the sub from there.

You probably wouldn't know if from the graph, but overall these speakers sound nice (especially with a sub). I can hear the 134 Hz peak in music with a wandering bassline, though.

Attachments

·
Registered
7,514 Posts