Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ladies & Gentlemen,

I was building a set of tower speakers with a 2446j & a 2206. I was in the final stages and ready to construct. Then, I came across some literature about the new JBL D2 compression drivers and had to have them. I bought a set of the D2's and decided I wanted the new directional drive neo transducers to go long with them.

My question is, would some one be so kind to run the 2262h for a ported enclosure through the software. I would like to use a square port in a 2sqft box. What would the port dimensions be and what would the tune be?

I have attached the Theile parameters below:

MODEL FS QTS QMS QES VAS EFF PE XMAX RE LE SD BL MMS FLUX
2262H 56.8 0.34 2.79 0.39 49.2 2.2 700 8 5.2 0.0547 18.0 68 392

P.S. If anyone is interested in a set of 2446j's & 2206's with 2380A horns msg me.

·
Registered
100 Posts
I'd love to help, but I'm a bit of a NOOB. I did try, but there is a nasty bump at 58Hz... Doesn't make sense to me. Maybe the TS parameters are not right, or I read them wrong. In any case, I don't think your port size will matter much, unless you have some constraint on your cabinet dimensions.

·
Premium Member
5,869 Posts
WinISD will tune the port to the Fs of the speaker.(56.8) Are you wanting a single driver in 2cuft tuned to 60hz?

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I was building the cabinets for the 2206's. The wood is already purchased and been cut. The cabinets are solid mahogany and the original size was 2 cf for the 2206 with a 4" square port 7" long. I would like to keep the 2 cf box size because it works for the size of the horn which is going in the cabinet too. I would like to get the tune down to 45hz +/-, if possible with 2cf. I need port size and length. I am also open to a box smaller than 2cf if needed for SQ.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #6