Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
These JBL subs are going pretty cheap dual 2 ohm Voice coils 3 inches in diameter.

Is there any REAL difference in the graphs given room gain and EQ's that are available?

The box is much smaller with JBL and the driver is cheaper.

They seem like nice subs. If someone can explain the reason the Shiva is so popular over other options please let me know (I am a HomeAudio beginner)

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
How cheap?

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
To make the graphs easier to see, under the "Plot" tab select "2" as the width. To compare 2 subs, use the SPL graph and also the cone excursion graph with the appropriate High Pass filter applied under the "EQ/Filter" tab.

The spec sheet I looked at state the P1224 is dual 4 ohm coils.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
With the Shiva-X's greater power handling and double the Xmax, it has 7 db more output at 20 hz compared to the JBL P1222.
Interesting. The JBL is rated at 400/800 and I would think that would be pretty close considering that figure changes based on the enclosure.

Also is the 27mm for the Shiva-X the Xmax or Xmech?

The JBL has the 1watt/1meter advatage by (calculated by me LOL) 84.4 to 91dB

So if the Shiva-X does indeed have the much larger X-max than the JBL does this ability not hurt it in the sensitivity range making it not as loud int he real world? Say if both were fed 300 watts?

·
Banned
1,131 Posts
With the Shiva-X's greater power handling and double the Xmax, it has 7 db more output at 20 hz compared to the JBL P1222.
This is of course presuming both drivers are actually linear at high power/excursion which is an unlikely case.

Further explanation taken from the WinISD tutorial: