Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a JBL W12GTi http://www.jbl.com/estore/jbl/us/products/W12GTi-MkII/W12GTI MKII_JBL_US

and a http://www.crownaudio.com/xls-drivecore.html

I bought the W12GTi for a future CA build, but it's a lovely sub and want to use it instead of having it just sit around.

I have 2 issues I know of:

1) The W12GTi is dual 6 ohm. The amp does not say it is stable at 3 ohm, or 12 ohm for that matter. Any opinions/advice? My plan was to level match the channels and run it stereo, from the subwoofer output on the E300 (using a Y-cable).

2) I would like to put the W12Gti in the wall, IB. The only place I have available is behind the couch. The room is about 14 x 12, wall for IB is about 5 feet behind the couch. The wall opens into empty space under the stairs and should be more than plenty for true IB. Any opinions/advice?

I am new to HT, so I'm really just looking for some direction and advice. I have Denon E300, Polk TSX330 towers and TSX150 center.

·
Registered
197 Posts
I modeled the JBL, Adire Shiva, and Stereo Integrity 15", & 18". It models pretty close to an Adire Shiva (12", seen these used IB before) in IB (I just picked a huge box size) with WinISD:

1) Personally I'd wire it to be 3ohm mono and just make sure the amp is well ventilated and don't crank it for long periods of time especially on hot days. You don't want to give a DVC sub a stereo signal. 12ohm will work fine but you won't be using that amp to it's full potential but you won't have to worry about burning it up.

2) The only way to know is to try it. Usually I wouldn't recommend using a car sub in a house but this seems to model ok in WinISD though that high FS (31hz) isn't really ideal for HT applications. Look at the graphs, the JBL has a sharper roll off. Car subs are designed to take advantage of cabin/room gain in the smaller space to reinforce the low end.