Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I am new to this site from over the pond

I have four Kicker CompVR 15" woofers that I took out of my US Truck that was imported. Initially, I figured I would sell them but I thought I might be able to use them for HT woofers.

I am a complete novice to woofers, however have built many things using wood and have almost all the tools I would need to make one. I just need to know more info on where to start (I was thinking ported):

Is one enough? (I have 4..........)
Box size for 1?
Box design? (I was going to make a large footstool for the sofa which had this built into it. Down facing sub and vent)
Amp needed?

Here are the specs of a woofer:

RMS Power Handling: 500W
Voice Coil: Dual 4 ohm
Freq Response: 25-500 Hz
Sensitivity: 89.1 dB
Fs: 20.8
Xmax: 12.5

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
155 Posts
I"ll attempt to answer since I was here at one point as well although, I've been out of it awhile and not near as intelligent on the topic as alot of guys here. I went with a owned fosgate on my first (Far from last) build. Since you have the sub, it's a great starting point but, if you catch the bug you will be swapping it out quickly. The big name brand car audio subs are designed (especially kicker) for SPL around 30hz and not much else. Moving to a sub designed for home theater is a huge difference in sound quality.

I'm surprised at the FS you have listed for the kicker. I would have expected much higher. If you obtain the rest of the T/S param's the sub can be modeled with software to determine the ideal box size. For that sub, the cabinet will most likely be very large if you go vented, it will be required for any low end.