Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am juggling between concepts right now.

I have always been interested in Line Arrays... I personally think they look cool, but I have zero experience with them.

I've been researching for full range drivers, and I found this 4", made locally, and available at the reasonable price of $18 a unit. This way, I wouldn't have to design a crossover, which would be another thing to learn! Unless I need to add some tweeters to the mix.

I'm trying to come up with design, but I need to understand how line arrays work. I downloaded Jim Griffin white paper on LA, but I need time to understand the concepts...

Still don't know if I should go with an open baffle (easy construction), or closed back (more work!).

This is the driver I found. Anyone could provide some feedback regarding this unit? I'm thinking of using 8 of them per tower.

Attachments

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the read!

A little different, since they are using 2" drivers ... and a lot more! :)
But interesting to read nevertheless.

My big question I guess is: Am I overthinking it?

In my quest to come up with something that is not a beast, but gives out a nice sound field, am I going overboard with 8 drivers per column ... and maybe one or 2 would do the same?

I have quite a big room, so, the multiple smaller drivers looked like it may fill that space better than a 2-way with a single 8" or 10" woofer with tweeter. That would also bring in the crossover design, in which I have zero experience. The array is also more spouse friendly than a big ported box.

Rainy season will be over in about a month, so I still have a little time to decide what I want to do exactly.... but I am excited at the idea of starting to build soon! :)

·
Registered
1,415 Posts