Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this over at the Cult but after reading some of the article thread on LLt and the IB makeover I think I am interested in this option.

POST FROM CIB

I am pondering an IB sub and would like your help on what to do in this area for a sub, if you have photo's to help me understand that would be great.
Being a total newb to IB I need recommendations on which driver's and a direction on how to build.
This is for HT use 95% and casual (no critical) listening. I do like heavy bass feel for movies but it would still need to sound good so if I am on the wrong track please feel free to steer me or tell me this is the wrong direction all together.
I think the amp would be an EP2500 and planning to invest in a BFD.

If I could get 2 18's (maybe these Ficaraudio in either the SSD or Q model if the Q is worth the $ upgrade) in the area that would be great but if I have room for more please let me know. I don't have a budget yet I just want the best value kinda stuff, I understand there is no free lunch but there is a point that performance to dollar ratio has a quick rise to a point then it takes alot more $ for small performance gains so I want to find the sweet spot of spending to performance and I am sure many of you have found it already.

I am currently using a HSU VFT III mkII or something like that model and when I play around with the sub setting to get it to the sound I like it loses control on big peak's so I am thinking two larger subs should give me the sound and feel without having to over drive them.

Here are some photo's
Room is 14X22 with cathedral ceilings.
The TV is now above fireplace and the space I am thinking of using is behind the mantle on the right with q chimney up the middle.

Is this enough info to get some ideas?

END