Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not really a newbie, but I am interested in building myself a new sub for my HT.

The room is in the basement, concrete floor (w/ carpet over), and drywalled walls.

What I am looking for is a box behind the finished wall (where the plasma hangs), firing throught the wall.

I have looked at the IB setups.......while nice, way out of my budget, and out of my wife's approval.

The sound I am looking for is very deep, moderatly loud, and very clean. I am an old car stereo installer, so I had some thoughts on what I'm looking for.....but I need some guidance.

I was considering two 15" in their own sealed boxes, firing at each other....the space between would be the 'port' into the HT room. 15's would be much too large though, and really out of my price range.

So.....I need some guidance. Looking for something with the above sound.....probably going to run it on a plate amp (due to cost), and of course I'll build my own box (used to build high end custom car boxes).

Thanks in advance for the help.

Robbie

·
Registered
393 Posts
How big is your room?

Your description of your planned install:
I have looked at the IB setups.......while nice, way out of my budget, and out of my wife's approval.

I was considering two 15" in their own sealed boxes, firing at each other....the space between would be the 'port' into the HT room. 15's would be much too large though, and really out of my price range

Robbie
Sounds suspiciously like an IB to me, if you just forget to put the box around the driver. :devil: What is the other room that will have this contraption in it? If you're basically building a manifold to attach 2 sealed boxes to, you could save the cost of the MDF you would have used to make the boxes and just go IB. "Look dear, I saved $40 by not building those boxes!"