Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've always dreamed of building a Home Theater (I think I came to the right place). I'm a complete tech junky and love to tinker with just about anything. I'm going to be getting married in 2 weeks and my groomsmen just gave me a $320 gift certificate to NewEgg. My Best Man told me that this was to get the ball rolling on my Home Theater. I figure I should start with a AVR. In the end I'd love to construct all of the speakers/sub(s) myself because DIY aspect of building an HT really sparks my interest. Currently I have some older speakers laying around that I could fix-up for use right away.

So, I'm looking for a versatile ARV to start off my system. The 2 models that caught my eye are:
(i was going to post links to newegg, but I don't have 5 posts yet)
ONKYO TX-SR608
Pioneer VSX-1020-K

Both of which are 400 bucks. I'm willing to spent the extra 80 bucks or so for what these AVR's have to offer.

The Pioneer has a network port, but i'm not sure what that will allow me to do. I'm a software developer so I'm kind of interested what abilities the network port offers. Could I interface with it via my computer? Can I control the AVR from my PC? Or does it only allow the ability to stream video/audio from a PC? This will me kind of important as I'd love to get something that has more potential for me to play with.

From what I've read the Onkyo will be able to power a second zone (ie: my garage) and a 7.1 system at the same time. Also, I think the Onkyo has the ability to bi-amp a 5.1 system. Again, this would offer more flexibility for me to build some neat fronts for my HT. But then again if I'm going to miss out on the network interface... I don't know what to do.