Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greets all!

It's been ages since I've done any speaker builds, and I've pretty much forgotten everything I used to know...and I see all sorts of great software tools and designers out there!

I'm hoping there is something out there that will fit my concept and budget.

Basically, inexpensive two way that will get me the holographic imaging I miss so much, in a small room with a 5 watt tube amp. I'm not concerned with deep bass or reference volume, just holographic imaging on a budget.

I'm hoping to pick up drivers for $100-$150 per speaker, and build the boxes of exotic hardwoods I already have. I'm a decent woodworker and can build whatever I can dream up. I'm also going to treat whatever room/area I decide to setup as my listening room with OC703 and large 2d diffusers. It will probably be a small area in the basement completely surrounded with treatment (both absorbers and diffusers), a pair of speakers, and me on a small leather chair.

Anyone have any suggestions on pre-designed two ways that fit this bill? :huh:

·
Registered
704 Posts
You could pick up a pair of Fostex FE260's in that price range... 96db full-rangers...

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You could pick up a pair of Fostex FE260's in that price range... 96db full-rangers...
Something like that is my backup plan. I was hoping for simple two way design, but a super efficient full range is something I'm keeping in the back of my mind. I've just never heard one that sounded good through the whole spectrum. Again, I'm not super concerned about concert bass, just holographic imaging.

·
Premium Member
132 Posts
Hmm true. I somehow relate the full range designs to efficiency, and the FR caught my eye on that design. I say, get a pair of Jolida 50 watters and try 'em anyway. ;) They sure look nice connected to those Mc's!