Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I posted below over on AVS Forum in the MiniDSP section in regards to sub woofer delay settings.

Goal is clean accurate bass. I am wondering if achieving a super flat SPL could in some way require delaying the timing such that is screws up the transient response. Or does avoiding nulls actually improve transient response? I am new to REW and have not used the waterfall graphs as of yet.

Based on some encouragement and thinking about it I guess I should make the subwoofer response between the BP2002 integrated subs and their own bipolar MTM as smooth as possible. Tuning out any room influence that may have changed Definitive Tech's original design intent.

Secondly layer on the third subwoofer that I have in the system. Original post below.

Did my first dive into subwoofer room correction and nothing but good things to report. The setup guides for 2x4 provided by this site and MiniDSP.com along with REW have made a great improvement in my listening room.

I have a question about time alignment of the subs. I have old Definitive Technology BP2002's in front each with a powered 12. I have a third subwoofer that can be read more about here.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-diy-speakers-subs/1438061-transmission-line-isobaric-subwoofer-home.html

I seem to notice that when I performed the time alignment step by measuring and adding an offset more and deeper nulls occurred in the REW sweeps.