Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll be brutally honest, I am a newbie looking to get the most performance for the least work as possible, not out of laziness but out of general technical inneptitude.

So far I undertand that I want an LLT Sonotube with the Maelstrom. Would like the Tube as thin in diameter as possible and hieght is not a giant issue. I do plan on having the woodwork done by someone else as well but have a few general questions I'll just list.

1. Why does it seem like the right port size would be 4"? I have always heard of people using 6" with 18" woofers but the sonotube program seems to make 4" as the only possibility and 6" needs to be 2xlonger than the tube itself?

2. Is the EP2500 a suitable amp bridged? Can it handle more safely?

3. Can sonotubes be finished with "rock" or "granite" try spray paint i.e. will it destroy the paper? Is cloth or felt the only option to finish the tube?

4. Is there a general consensus on a tuning frequency that compliments the Maelstrom well? I don't think I have the best ability to judge this and want to see if there is a set range that you can tube the port to while still having good performance in the 80-100hz range.

As you can see I did not lie about being a newbie. My goal like I said is to learn enough to build an LLT sonotube with the least work and room for error as possible. I currently have an SVS pb13 Ultra that bottoms out on be at reference levels and need something that can keep up so I can back the SVS off and run it even or cool while letting the beast of an LLT run hot.

·
Premium Member
1,941 Posts
1. Why does it seem like the right port size would be 4"? I have always heard of people using 6" with 18" woofers but the sonotube program seems to make 4" as the only possibility and 6" needs to be 2xlonger than the tube itself?