Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I’m new to this home theater thing, I have been reasearching for a long time and finally went out and built up my 5.1 system with HTD level 3 speakers all around and a SVS PB12-plus2 for my sub. I’m not as happy with the sub as I thought, my general issue being that I can hear the sub vibrating the walls and the light fixtures, I just can’t FEEL the bass, which is half of the reason I bought such a monster sub. I assume that the issue, in part, due to the sub location. I don’t have a lot of places to move my sub, but I’m going to try. I do have the PEQ on my sub that I’m not sure how to use….

I also want to try and measure the frequency of my sub. The problem is I don’t have a working computer at home, only my work laptop, so I can’t download programs. So it looks like I will just do it the old fashioned way and run SIN waves and read the dB off my radio shack meter and then plot it in excel. Do I do this with only the sub, or do I include the other speakers as well? Any other pointer you can give me?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I attached the graph that i created, I sent the output with a Pink noise until it read 75dB and went from there.

My meter didn't pick up any thing until 15Hz and in the 190Hz and over it was hard to tell because the meter would range between LO-52dB, I think some of it being ambinet noise at times. Please let me know what you think, I would think that i'm low in the mid 40Hz region and too high in the 20Hz region. Please help and any advice on utilizing my PEQ would be great. Thanks

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
9,283 Posts

That dip at 44 Hz is probably your culprit as to why things sound weak. That’s a key area for the “feel” you’re lacking. Probably not much you can do about it with the subwoofer’s built-in PEQ, though. Typically they are “cut only” filters.