Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. This is my first attempt at using REW. I followed all of the instructions and I'm having a few issues. I am using a RadioShack SPL meter connected via RCA cable to a small Behringer mixer I use to control the speakers on my PC which then goes to the sound card. Both the sound card and SPL meter have been calibrated as per the instructions. The problem is that every time I click on "Measure" and click check levels it always comes back as "Low" (-40db). The SPL meter reads 75db as does the display in REW. After taking the measurement I always get a message saying that the volume was low. I do get a reading but it's all around 60Hz except for a major peak in the 39Hz range where it's at 90. Is my room response really that bad?

My sound card (HT Omega Striker 7.1) is connected via coaxial output to my Yamaha RX-V2700 receiver. When I try to turn the volume up when the pink noise test tone is being output it starts clicking and cutting out. I would describe it as stuttering. I can't turn the volume on the receiver up past -35db without this problem occurring. I have never seen this before. I have run test tones from other programs like TrueRTA and off of test DVDs at much higher levels without problems. Any ideas?

Also, would I be better off using a different microphone? I do live sound for acoustic music and I have some Audio Technica PRO37's and a few ADK A-51 mk5.1's (can't post links). Would one of those be a better measurement tool?

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
My sound card (HT Omega Striker 7.1) is connected via coaxial output to my Yamaha RX-V2700 receiver