Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been looking into a home theater system for some time now. I just bought my first place over a year ago and I'm now looking into getting my first home theater system to match.

I have zero experience with audio speakers and receivers, but after doing a lot of reading up I have settled on the SVS MTS-01 5.0 Full size speaker system. I am not going in on the sub yet since I live in a condo and I don't want to of my neighbors.... yet.

Does anyone have any suggestions on A/V receivers that would go great with those speakers? I am looking for at least 5.1 capabilities and at least 2 zones for some where in the range of $1,000.

I started to look into this on my own but I don't understand enough about impedance, ohms and frequency response to fully understand what I am looking at.

·
Banned
4,015 Posts
Hi Justin,
I would suggest looking at some of the Onkyo range, as I understand it there are some bargains to be had on these amps with something like the 906 coming in around that price point, and would be capable of powering the MTS speakers, but you could also later on add a poweramp if you feel they needed more...

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
John is correct, The Onkyo line is the best bang for buck. The Onkyo TX SR876 is a great choice. The 906 is better however they sell for about $1400.
I garentee that you wont find a better receiver than the 876 for $888 new.
You get a receiver that will drive all channels at the rated output and it has the best video upconversion available in a receiver the Raon HQV chip.

·
Registered
1,546 Posts
At $1000 or less, it really is a no brainer. Tony and John already mentioned the name brand that will give you what you need, and that is an Onkyo. They are just fantastic bargains for what you get in them and I cannot recommend them enough!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5