Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am new to speaker designing and the passive x-over seems very intimidating to me. i understand basic electrical stuff but i have been reading about passive x-over design and i must say its hard for me to wrap my head around since alot conflict each other with personal preference. the aproach i have come up with is to get a minisp 2x4 and set x-over according to winISD to get a starting point and play with it in increments that i can use to build a simple x-over. i will repaet i am new so this seems like a good idea with the limited kowledge i have.:ponder: i have a dayton DATS on the way so i can get info off the speakers after break in to get a better model in winISD. also purchased some wood tools to make good encloures and other things. i have a 5ch amp to use with the minidsp for testing. i dont have anything to record actaul response other than my ears. REW seems like something i will get into later as i learn more.

am i missing a step or will this work to get started?

·
Registered
1,747 Posts
An active crossover probably won't behave the same way as a passive crossover with the same filters, because a passive crossover interacts with a system's impedance curve while the active does not.

But at the end of the day it's not the filters we're worried about simulating. It's the final acoustic transfer functions and driver phase interaction.

A digital active crossover like the miniDSP makes design a lot easier, because you can play around with the delays and acoustic response easily and measurably. For a passive crossover, you normally want assymettric acoustic slopes in order to account for driver offsets, wheras this isn't necessary for an active crossover.