Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pardon the length of this- I am very new to all the acronyms and specs required to build a home theater sub but I am a fan of what they do and a semi accomplished carpenter. I have a Def Tech Supercube II that has some internal issues that I don't care to have fixed. So the parts I have are: 1-8" driver from said subwoofer, 2-8" passive radiators and as it happens I also have an 8" driver from a Supercube. I would like to use what I have and buy a plate amplifier. The primary use of the sub will be home theater. I am open to varying deigns but am not into researching/learning a whole new language. Any help would be very much appreciated and I will upload photos of my project. If it matters my room is 14'x16' and I am married so the size can't be overwhelming, LOL.

·
HTS Moderator , Reviewer
3,335 Posts
I am open to varying deigns but am not into researching/learning a whole new language.
That's probably going to hamper you then, because without knowing what you're doing and why you're doing it the prospect of success is pretty slim I'm afraid. The amp, driver(s), alignment and cabinet size are all intertwined. If the equation isn't balanced among all of them you can be almost certain it will end badly.

It sounds as though the "internal issues" you mention are structural, seeing as how you're able to reuse the driver and PR's. Is the problem actually related to the cabinet itself?

·
Registered
4,017 Posts