Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m working on a WS-55907 for a friend of mine. I’m an amateur at TV repair, but have pretty good experience with troubleshooting electronics. The problem is that the TV shuts down at power on. If I plug it in and check the diagnostic code before trying to turn it on I get the 1-2 code, indicating ‘no problem’. Once I try to turn it on and it shuts down it gives a 2-1 code for x-ray protect. I have the service manual and have done some testing and this is what I’ve found so far.
I believe the x-ray protect error is triggered by IC5A02, a dual comparator chip. I’ve tried to check the inputs to this chip with a scope and I believe they are good. On pin 3 I have 10.0 volts, on pin 2 I have 8.9 volts, and pin 6 reads 5.3 volts these are all good according to the schematic. The other input, pin 5 should be 8.3 volts according to the schematic, but on my scope it levels out at about 11 volts, before the TV shuts down. I would think that would still be all right since it is higher than the 5.3 volts on pin 6 it would not trip the comparator.
What I found next is my big question. The outputs from that IC pin 1 and pin 7 are tied together and go to the microprocessor (IC7A00 pin 59) to trigger the x-ray protect. The schematic says they should be at 3.4 volts. As best as I can tell they are at .9 volts, before I try to turn on the TV. When I turn it on it looks like it jumps up to about 2 volts before the TV shuts down. I traced this line on the schematic and it looks, to me, like this line should be at 3.3 volts even when the TV is off. I think it is derived from the 3.3 VS supply. I checked the 3.3 VS at pin 3 of IC7C07 with the TV off and it reads 3.29 volts. I think there is a pull-up resistor (R7B59 10K) from the x-ray line to the 3.3 VS supply. Is my thinking correct? Should the x-ray line and pins 1 and 7 of IC5A02 read 3.3 volts even when the TV is off?