Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
E

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyoone, I'm new to this forum, and I'm new to diy loudspeakers too.:jump:

I'm doing my first project, trying to keep things as cheap as possible. I need practice before going in for a more expensive and ambitious diy speaker project.

I'm making a 3way speaker system, recycling a pair of 2way loudspeakers of which I'm only reusing the boxes and the 15"woofers. Using three power amps and a digital crossover, I have determined that the whole system sounds best with crossover frequences of about 500-800Hz and 3000Hz. Using the formulas from DIYspeaker books I have come up with a set of values for the crossover design. Now, in order to get the best approximation I will have to put capacitors in paralell. Will I get any problems if I use np electrolitics in paralell with np polyester ones?:scratchhead:

I also have trouble getting inductances. :no: I can't cheaply buy .8-1mm enammelled copper wire to make them, nor ready made ones, except for some toroidal ones. Are these any good? Can I put more than one toroid in series to achieve a bigger value?

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
Wow, I'm way impressed! I took the DIY plunge, but I stayed in the shallow end of the pool -- basically for the same reason you're posting, crossovers. Hopefully someone with better electrical know how can help you with this area.. however, here are a few websites I found related to crossovers that may help:

Link 1
Link 2
Link 3
Link 4
Link 5
Link 6
Link 7

Several of the links are related to automobile systems, but the application should be the same.

If you don't mind, I was wondering if you could answer a few questions:
  1. What kind of slope are you going to use (for example, butteworth or linkwitz-Riley)
  2. What order of slope are you going to use (6db/octave, 12 db/octave, etc)?
  3. How did you determine the box size?
  4. What is box tuned to?