Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Long time listener, first time caller. I'm getting into modeling subwoofers for the first time. I have done a bit of research and might know enough to be dangerous (probably in a bad way). I'm detail oriented and want to understand why I'm doing what I'm doing. I'm a mechanical engineer working in the aerospace industry by trade, and do a lot of work in measurements (from sensor to data acquisition to post processing). My life at work is inundated with FFTs, Campbell diagrams, etc.

Long story short, my home theater subwoofer crapped out. The amp started popping the speaker randomly. Its very old and I bought it used from a friend many years ago. I'd like to replace it with a DIY subwoofer. Ok, so few pieces of info to start.

- Will be used for TV, home theater, and music. TV is at a very low level, usually when the kids go to bed. Home theater is a lot of kids movies, and action movies. Music, I like all genres. The Pandora stations go from country, to rock, to pop, to classical and everywhere in between.

- The room is on a slab, with bedrooms above it. The room is L shaped, and is roughly 27'x23' with 8' ceilings. The room is open another half level (quad level house). Relatively large space.

- Price point is under $1000.