Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm a newbie, looking for some guidance on a 5.1 system.

Background: I don't know anything about speakers. I had a local AV business in for a consultation and based on my input he recommended Monitor Radius speakers for a 5.1 system in my basement TV room (specifically R90HD front and R45HD surround with an Earthquake MiniMe 8 sub).

I asked him what the next level down in quality would be and I forgot what speaker he referenced but basically said they would be a lot bigger although comparable quality, so I said small size is worth the higher price (wife's input). Then I asked him what the next step up in quality would be and he said I could go with Monitor Apex for the front 3 speakers in which case I wouldn't need a subwoofer.

He quoted both options and the price was only about $200 difference (basically $2200 for the radius system and $2400 for the Apex system), the nicer speakers being somewhat offset by the elimination of the subwoofer.

My questions:
1. Does this sound like a reasonable price? He would do the complete installation.
2. Are Apex's (without sub) worth $200 more? Or should I really be comparing to Apex with sub (add $500 more) and is it worth the extra $700 in that case? I know speakers are personal choices - just curious to know what other people familiar with these speakers would say.
3. He works a lot with Monitor but isn't a dealer and will go with other speakers if I want. Is Monitor a good value generally speaking? I've seen a few positive reviews in tech magazines and such but when I search HT forums I don't see a lot of mention of them. Any other brands I should definitely consider in the same tier?