Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Folks, check this out. Attached is the final filtered response for my room and speakers. The top blue line is the combined response with both speakers, the red line is the left speaker only, and the green line is the right speaker only. Overall I am happy with the graph aside from the various nulls I have. For the most part, the combined graph shows where I have dips in either the Left or Right speakers. What really got me perplexed is the monster null at around 80hz which seems to show up out of no where. As you can see in either of my individual speaker graphs, there is no dip at 80hz.

Curious to know what the cause may be?

Total FINAL Response.jpg

·
Registered
2,454 Posts
I'm no expert & I'm sure someone with more REW knowledge will chime in shortly, but if I had to guess...I'd say it is a phase issue between the two speakers. Just a guess.

·
Registered
4,015 Posts
Try adding and subtracting a couple feet incrementally to the subwoofer distance and see if it changes. It looks like a phase issue between the subs and mains. Or try adjusting the phase control on the subwoofer. Re-sweep and compare results. Adjust accordingly. Disclaimer: also not an expert.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Thanks guys...I think I may have found something. I was looking at an older graph of my right speaker taken about a week ago before I repositioned it. It shows the same massive, and steep null at 80hz. But I thought I remedied this by moving the speaker and by also closing the door to my listening room. As you can see from the graphs I included above taken just yesterday, the right speaker no longer has this null. I have taken many many measurements of my right speaker since I moved it and starting closing the door to my listening room and REW does not show this 80hz dip any more.