Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm curious as to what movies don't just have a lot of bass, but actually can realistically threaten subs that are running kind of hot or don't have a rumble filter. The only two that come to mind are War of the Worlds (lightning) and Master and Commander (cannonball). As I'm still learning the limits of my new DIY subs this is of interest to me.

·
Registered
428 Posts
Add The Haunting DTS and Titan A.E. to that list. War of the Worlds is a level above anythng else I have heard though, last time I gave that a good run it broke the filament in my light globe and made 2 vents fall out of the ceiling. I have 2 DIY sonotube subs with shiva 12inch drivers tuned to 17hz (in room response is flat to 10hz), a BFD with a mean house curve, and a Behringer A500 amp (2x250w) to power them. I have never bottomed the subs out, the amp clips on WOTW DTS at 6 or 7db below reference level whereas most other movies I have tried wont clip the sub amp until 2 or 3 below ref level.

Harry.

·
Moderator Emeritus
606 Posts
The Haunting at DTS reference level is downright malicious.

·
Moderator Emeritus
606 Posts
I think my sub can dish out any reference level bass with ease.

I'm the one who is threatened!

·
Premium Member
8,367 Posts
Definitely agree with "The Haunting" DTS..Even better than WOTW in my opinion.I shudder every time those very low bass tones come on..
I can't see the sub. cone, but I would imagine that it's at it's maximum excursion..

Another DVD that will really test your sub is the DTS version of "U-571"..

·
Senior Shackster
365 Posts
You might want to check out The Incredibles. Here are several scenes that are extremely challenging to a sub.

Mr. Incredible Stops Train; 108 dB: Listen to the initial train impact. A good subwoofer will make you feel each track lifting and breaking under Mr. Incredible’s feet.