Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody

I am a 57 yr old Doctor from a small town in Andhra Pradesh, a state in South of India. I love movies and have been enjoying them on a 50" Sony 3LCD RPTV till now. Had just returned from the US of A with a Panasonic 200 720P LCD Projector and a Samsung 1080p8 upconverting DVD player.

This has enabled me to start on my longstanding dream of a dedicated Home Th.
I had a spare room on groundfloor which I had previously used as a Darkroom for phography. Since the digital age there is no longer a use for the same and I have decided to convert it into my HT.

The room size is 190" Long, 152" Wide and 144" High. I shall be having a false roofing installed to a height of 120", which would give me a Good acoustic Room Dimension. There will be a Split AC and 2 rows of seating - a front row of comfy
Sofa seats ( may be 4 lazy boys) and a backrow of reclining theatre seats- 4-5. on a
15” Riser.

My Design Goals in order of priority:

1. The picture
2. The Sound
3. Comfortabe Seating
4. Aesthetics

To this end I have had a door and a window on a wall dummied for preparation as the Frontwall with the screen. The walls have been painted with a Very Dark Blue Color
As I didn’t want any light reflections from the screen degrading the image. Black Matte is the ideal color but I have yet to see any theatre with black on the walls. This color was nice looking and you can see the result in the attached screen image.

It’s been 3 days since I started on the projector and I have been able to get a sample screen image today.

I hope to post the entire construction as it evolves with my thoughts and doings.