Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at a "real" home theater. I've had receivers before, but nothing this involved. As you can see from the pics I've added, I built a "man closet" in an unused corner of the family room. This allows a showcase of the rack, but also plenty of DVD storage and of course, the ability to get behind the rack. The TV on the wall is a Hitachi 50" plasma. The system is 7.1 using all Proficient speakers. I did all of the install myself post-construction, including running all of the wire on a two-story house - and yes, this room is on the ground floor, which made it challenging to run wire (but not impossible as many sites would have you believe). Also, I've read negatives for in-ceiling speakers, but I tell you what - this room sounds awesome with these Proficient Audio speakers. In-ceiling worked better as I have only 8' ceilings and the exterior of the house is block, so there wasn't room to house in-walls.

Below are the specs for what I've got downstairs in the family room:

1 - Hitachi 50" 1080p Plasma
6 - Proficient LCR870 (In-ceiling speakers)
1 - Proficient P12 (Subwoofer)
1 - Denon AVR-988 (Receiver)
1 - Belkin Pure A/V Power Cleaner/Surge/Battery back-up
1 - Denon - DVD-758 (DVD and SuperAudio CD Player)
1 - Dish Network VIP722DVR (Satellite TV)
1 - Sharp BD-HP20 (Blu-Ray Player)
1 - AudioSource Amp 100 (Amp for back porch speakers)
1 - Honeywell HRHD16+ (CCTV DVR)
4 - Honeywell CCTV Cameras
1 - Honeywell Power Products Power Supply (For CCTV Cameras)
1 - CE Labs HS103 (HDMI Auto-Switcher (I was one HDMI input short))
1 - Harmony 890Pro with RF Extender
1 - Dell Dimension 8400 for Music Server running iTunes (21,000+ songs on board)

As you can see from the pics below, I LOVE CABLE TIES!!!!

Hope you enjoy, and I'd love to hear any suggestions you might have...

Greg

Attachments

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2