Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting here, so please bear with me :bigsmile: . Anyway, for the past few weeks I've been reading up on Sonosubs. I really like what I've seen so I decided to attempt one of my own. I'd like to use a 15" TC-9 hybrid 2 ohm DVC subwoofer I have thats just taking up space in my basement. I downloaded WinISD, loaded all the sub t/s parameters and I think I understand what I need to do. However, being that this is my first HT build and my first time using WinISD, I was hoping someone could double check me.

Here is the subwoofer information:
Revc = 4.0229 ohms
Fms = 27.3089 Hz
Zmax = 38.5442 ohms
Qes = 0.3948
Qms = 3.3876
Qts = 0.3536
Le = 4.0277 mH (at 1 kHz)
Diam = 325.7550 mm ( 12.8250 in )
Sd =83343.5655 mm^2(129.1828 in^2)
Vas = 152.9121 L ( 5.4000 ft^3)
BL = 19.5766 N/A
Mms = 219.1788 g
Cms = 154.9648 uM/N
Kms = 6453.0791 N/M
Rms = 11.1017 R mechanical
Efficiency = 0.7412 %
Sensitivity= 90.7176 dB @1W/1m
Sensitivity= 93.7030 dB @2.83Vrms/1m
Xmax = 22 mm

Ideally, I'd like to use a 24" diameter by 36" long sonotube, (I can go much higher than 3 feet else the wife will probably void the entire project), double 3/4 inch MDF endcaps (3/4 inside the tube, 3/4 inch outside) which would result in a net volume of about 255 L (before port/driver displacement).
From what I've read, 18 Hz seems like a good tuning frequency. So, I punched all this data into WinISD and it calculated a port size of 4" diameter by 8.63" length.
I looked over the various graphs that WinISD calculates and although they looked ok to me (based on other people's WinISD graphs I've seen online), I'm not experienced enough to know if what I'm looking at are the results I want.