Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys

Finally I managed to persuade my wife to give transform our "room for random stashing" into a home cinema. I have some experience with stereo setups so i am really looking forward to dig into the world of surround sound.

I am on a limited budget however my plan is to achieve the highest 5.1 cinema experience possible with what i have got, so much of my equipment is bought second hand.

I plan to run all of it through my computer with XBMC (preferably my 2011 mac mini) and i also plan to use dirac live room correction as i have had very good results with this on my stereo setup.

So far i have gathered the following equipment:

Receiver : Integra 80.1
Source : Mac mini 2012 running XBMC with dirac live
Subwoofer : XTZ 12"
Projector : BenQ W1000
Screen : 90" gain 1.0 roller blind, cut out and fastened to screen frame
Speakers : Not 100% sure about this but I am currently very interested in the upcomming xtz cinema series

Here are some pictures of my plans and some of the stuff :)

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,794 Posts
Looks like it is going to be real nice.

·
Premium Member
1,167 Posts
Gonna follow this, love seeing a room come together.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Thanks alot everyone!

Subscribed - yay for a new build thread!

One question - it appears you are doing an AT screen and putting the front stage speakers behind it. Is there a reason why you are choosing bookshelfs for the L/R rather than floor standers?
I am jusing a regular non AT projector screen canvas but the rest of the screen wall will be made with speaker grill cloth.

I am going for a bookshelf monitor setup as it is my understanding that bookshelfs with a subwoofer is easier to control in a small room (mine is only 13 square meters) compared to floor standers. At least that is what i experienced in my living room with a stereo setup.

·
Premium Member