Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After I upgraded my IB from 2 tempest to 4... all was fine.... then I started playing around with the BFD... it was going good.... then as as yesterday....the subs feel like thier running on 7 cylinders..

Things I have done so far to see what the problem is...

- I bypassed the BFD.... no improvement

- I completely removed BFD... nothing...
- I rechecked speakons on amp and tried regular binding posts hookup.... nothing...( I did this cause I added the speakons recently)

- I checked all settings on my AVR for sub out... nothing...

- I disconnected my main speakers and played only my IB...and it can't hit more than 92 DB on my digital RS meter... the cones are moving a lot... but it's completely void of any visceral feeling....I know definitely something wrong...but can't figure it out...

I checked all connections on subs.....

What else can I do?

·
Friend of the Shack
1,356 Posts
Hi canaris,

After I upgraded my IB from 2 tempest to 4... all was fine....
So does that mean that everything was working at 100% at some point? And then it got worse? Or did you just get it set up and it seemed to work until you looked closer?

I checked all connections on subs.....
So everything is 100% in phase?

What else can I do?
Go back to the original set up and make sure it still works properly -- create a baseline. Then start adding the other stuff. Once you add something that causes the failure, swap out the relevant components (driver, amp channel, etc.) until you figure out what the cause of the problem is.

Good luck!

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
So everything is 100% in phase?
Be sure that a positive voltage on the positive terminal of each driver moves the cone out. There may be a wiring mistake on the drivers..... Use a 1.5volt battery for this test. Only touch the battery to the terminal long enough to get a visual reading. Don't leave it hooked up.