Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!
I am new to HTS, but have already learned a lot just from browsing through what others have posted.

This entire setup has come together just during the past year. :bigsmile:
As usual though, it is a work in progress. I am actually a little unsure about what to do next, so I would really appreciate any feedback you all have.

Here's what I've got so far:

Panasonic TH-42PZ77U 42" Plasma TV calibrated with Avia
Onkyo TX-SR605 AVR
Samsung upconverting DVD player
PS3 with PS3 Toothfairy (converts IR signals to bluetooth for use with universal remote)
Logitech Harmony 550

3.1 speaker setup including:
Oldschool 3-way KLH mains
Pioneer center
HSU STF-2 Sub

As I mentioned previously, this room serves multiple purposes and is a very open floor plan. Behind where the picture is taken, the room continues on into a dining area, with a kitchen off to the side. Imagine an L-shaped room with the theater wall being at the top of the L. There are also 2 open stairwells that come directly off of this room to access the other 2 floors of the condo.

Eventually I want to expand to a full 7.1 system, but the wife has already mandated that any other additional speakers be on-wall or in-wall with absolutely no wires showing. My plan is to have an electrician come in and wire the whole place up for some speakers and can lighting. However, that will have to wait while I save up the money.

In the meantime, I would really like to upgrade my current speakers. Since the room is so open, I would like to stick with a 3 way tower for my fronts, but go with a slimmer profile. I am strongly considering these RBH towers: http://www.rbhsound.com/1266se.shtml

I'm considering them just off of looks and reviews alone, but have no doubt it would be an improvement over my current speakers.

Well that's it...
Any suggestions, both big and small, are more than welcome. :T

David
Houston, TX