Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

After having some advice recently, I have now decided to use my sub for music as well as movies. I therefore re-run REW to get the most flattest response I could.

With reference to the graph, the kit used is a Sunfire HRS12" sub, B&W803D main L&R, and an antimode 8033. Xover is as 60hz, (including centre and rears). Without the antimode the room suffers a huge 15db peak at around 30hz?

I would like to know what your thoughts are on the graph please, and whether it is worth tweaking further? I am a slight novice re REW, but not adverse to learning:D

The sub is currently placed in a room 4.7mx3.3m, and situated at front wall, between centre and right speaker.

If anything, I would like to up the 40-60hz range, but have tried phase and distance settings but run out of any more improvements? This is where I start to become fustrated and lose the plot......:hissyfit:

The processor is rotel and does not have any form of EQ etc. The result below is from just pure relentless positioning and the antimode 8033.

Thank you for looking.

Regards

David

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks.

I just assumed that the 'punch' is around that region, and that if I could get it a few db higher it should more evident? If you think its a pretty good response then that puts my mind at rest really......

I have managed to drop that 150hz peak slightly with positioning the mains, but lost the graph, but also the lower FR started to suffer slightly. Would you have any suggestions on this, maybe room treatment?

Bottom line is that im a noob who's looking for some reassurance that im not missing out too much musically re my graph?

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,604 Posts
Not a bad response really, but why is it dropping off so much after 200Hz?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks for the link. Ill take a closer look later!