Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 13w7 already so this is the sub I am working with. It sounded great in my car in a ported box. I would like to use it now for my HT, but I know little about HT, box types, and home amps. I am still learning and searching the net for other 13w7 home installs at the same time.
The size of the box is not an issue I can make it as big as needed, I want it to get REALLY LOW to where it can shake everything :yay2: and will rarely if ever use it for music.
So far from what I've read I'm gearing towards either an LLT and sono tube. Can anybody give me some numbers on how to build the box (enclosure size, port size and length)? From what I read there is software, but I don't know squat about anything dealing with Qs and stuff. What I do know is I can make a very nice box and am great with woodworking if I knew exactly what specs to make the box at.
I would like it loud as can be and also understand that driver excursion can be a problem if tuning a box to be real low.
Also any ideas of what amp to get? I currently have a Harmon/Kardon AVR 645 as a reciever and will need an amp for the sub. I don't care if it's a plate amp or what not, just want one that is good, preferably 300-500, maybe more if the amp is really worth it for my sub. I would prefer it to be as powerful as possible, but within range to prevent driver excursion.
Finally will I need a crossover? eq? subsonic filter? If so can anybody recommend some?

I know I'm asking for a lot and might even get flamed for not know enough, but I am prepared. I want to be able to do it right the first time.

·
Registered
2 Posts
I am interested in the responses because i also have a jl w3v3 12 driver that im currently using that seems to be ok not sure what the real differences are between ht and car audio drivers either

·
Registered
2,431 Posts