Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, first and foremost I am into audio, both home and car, big time. My home setup consists of a pair of B&W DM603 S3 hooked to a Denon DRA-697CI receiver. What I want to do isd build a set of bookshelf speakers for use at school or just in general. I want to use the Vifa XT25TG30-04 1" Dual Concentric Dome Tweeter for the tweeter and Tang Band W6-1721 6-1/2" Underhung Midbass Driver for the woofer. What I need is a crossover design, but I have no experience in this area. If anyone can at the very least assist me I would appreciate it greatly.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Are you looking for active crossovers (ie amplifiers for each driver in the speaker enclosure) or passive crossovers (one amp for all the drivers)?

·
Registered
63 Posts
I had a look at the driver specs via the links you posted.
Will you be using a vented enclosure design for the LF driver?
BTW, I have a speaker design spreadsheet on my site that may help with your cabinet design.

For your crossover you can probably get away with a second order passive design. For a Linkwitz-Riley filter at 2500Hz (ie -24dB at 600Hz), you can use 0.5mH inductors and 8uF caps. The HF driver you have selected gives about 3dB more output for 1W at 1m so you will probably need to attenuate it as well.

For the inductors, wind them as air-cored using 0.8mm or better copper wire. The construction specs for the inductors will depend on the formers you choose. Otherwise you can probably just purchase some ready-made from an electronics supplier.

You can make up 8uF capcitor using 4 x 2uF in parallel. Make sure the voltage rating is sufficient for the output of your amplifier. I normally use 250V polyester caps.

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
I think the post above would work in general, but you may not be happy with the results. Until you play with the actual drivers, it'd be impossible to know how a crossover would turn out.